Conversations with My Boss

Me to myself/at my computer: “NOOOOOOOOOO. [brief pause] NOOOOOOOOOOO.”

Boss: “What?”

Me: “I just hate everything.”

Boss: [raises eyebrows]

Me: “I have to go to this party I don’t want to go to with this person I don’t want to go with, and now the person is asking if I want to have drinks before the party too, and I just. don’t. want. to do any of it.”

Boss: [just stands there]

Me: “You don’t care.”

Boss: “No, it’s just that it seems like everything you’re complaining about is within your control.” [Walks away]

5 thoughts on “Conversations with My Boss

  1. ᴀ ɴᴇᴡ ʏᴏʀᴋ ᴍɪɴᴜᴛᴇ says:

    Your boss apparently knows a thing or two about stoic philosophy. My advice is to ask for an unreasonably high raise. You’ll either be fired or financially much better off. You’d win either way. And you can teach him a lesson in pragmatism at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

