Please Pardon this Brief Interruption for Cancer

I debated about whether I should post this–because it’s about the fundraising I’m doing for cancer, and everyone hates being asked for money, and I hate asking everyone for money, and I don’t know any of you personally and certainly don’t expect any of you to contribute–but then decided it couldn’t hurt, since it’s for a good cause and I have no expectations in posting it here, except maybe to at least spread awareness about leukemia and lymphoma, and The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS)–(I’m also doing much more targeted fundraising with people I actually know–so lucky for you that I don’t know know you! :)) So please bear with me, or ignore me–totally fine either way!

My dear friend Vera Herbert asked me to join her fundraising team as she competes for LLS’s title of Woman of the Year, and how could I say no. First of all, you can’t say no to helping any good cause without looking like an asshole. So, there was my image to preserve. But also, I lost my grandmother (“Yiayia” to me because I’m about as Greek as they come) to breast cancer in 2008, and she was basically my second mom, so I do have a direct connection to the heartbreak that cancer leaves in its wake (my inappropriate t-shirt in the photo is a tribute to her battle with breast cancer–a sort of twisted one, but a tribute nonetheless). I know breast cancer is neither leukemia nor lymphoma, but cancer is cancer is cancer. Also, many LLS supported therapies not only help blood cancer patients, but patients with other types of cancer as well, including breast cancer. See, everything is interconnected!

And on that note, with no expectation from me and no intention to impart any sense of obligation on you, but only if you are so inclined, it would mean a great deal to me if you would join me in supporting LLS by making a donation to my fundraising campaign. My team, Team Hollygood (named as such to prove that not EVERYONE in Hollywood is a soulless jerk!) and led by Vera, is working to raise as much as possible in a 10-week period. Our goal is $50,000, but every dollar I raise counts as one vote and the candidate who gets the most votes/raises the most money is named the Man or Woman of the Year. All donations are greatly appreciated and tax deductible. They’ll not only support LLS research, but patient services, advocacy, public and professional education, and community services as well.

You can make donations through my fundraising page (much of this post I ripped off from what I wrote on my fundraising page, so if you visit my page, you can skip reading it unless you want additional info that I didn’t include here).

Or, if you know anyone who is super loaded and likes the Lakers even though they’re terrible, I’m also auctioning off 4 tix (4th row behind their bench ) + 2 parking passes for their last home game of the season on 4/15 v. Sacramento Kings to benefit our fundraising campaign here and there are 2.5 days left to bid.

Additionally, here please find a link to Team Hollygood’s launch video featuring our fearless leader, Vera: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAtPzUMUnCM. And for more information about LLS, please visit www.lls.org.

Ok, that’s it. Thanks for (hopefully) not hating me for posting this!!

14 thoughts on “Please Pardon this Brief Interruption for Cancer

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    I don’t have a dime (my own blood cancer bills) to my name, but if you don’t mind I’m going to share this on my social media pages (which don’t have many followers) in the hopes it will raise a couple duckets.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. acucco88 says:

    Lost my dad to leukemia. Well, he had MDS and once he started chemo it turned into leukemia and he was gone in a few weeks. No one should hate you for trying to help raise awareness or raise money and if they do, they can go eff themselves right? With that said, once I can get my spare change to the coinstar, I will donate it to ya 🙂 #cancersucks

    Liked by 1 person

    • onlybadchi says:

      I’m so sorry to hear about your loss, and I sincerely appreciate your support–and no worries at all if you can’t donate, your moral support is plenty 🙂 And yes, they CAN go eff themselves 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • onlybadchi says:

      I just saw that and was wondering who it was, so I’m so glad you told me here because I wanted to be able to say THANK YOU (and love love love the comment you left)!!! I am so sincerely grateful for and touched by your generosity and support–because of you, we are one step closer to creating a world without blood cancers! Thank you thank you thank you 🙂
      And I’m so impressed you did the marathon training–I have a couple friends who do that as well, and I am in awe of all of you. I chose the more sedentary route haha, so major props to you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

